Switch to full style
Data recovery and disk repair questions and discussions related to old-fashioned SATA, SAS, SCSI, IDE, MFM hard drives - any type of storage device that has moving parts
Post a reply

recovering a cp2024 or other solution for olivetti quaderno

April 3rd, 2012, 6:38

Hi to all,
I'm trying to recover the hdd of an olivetti quaderno I got for free from a friend, actually the drive spins but the heads don't move (yes I've opened it as people said that on that model heads tends to get glued on the end-run position).
the disc is detected by windows 7 as usb conner peripherial 20 mb (using my ide to usb adapter) but obviously I can't neither see the disk nor access it (same story if I plug it on mac or linux)... I'm totally new to disk recovering and I'd like to learn something new, plus getting a new hdd is quite expensive as the quaderno only seems to accept its original model (conner cp 2024). Using the search function of the forum I've found references about a guide by fbkazkas (sorry if it's not correct) on how to mod another hdd in order to "fool the quaderno" in thinking it is its original model, but I'm not able to find the guide itself.

my actual options are:
-buy a new disk (expensive, not sure if it's worth)
-mod a disk with the said guide (assuming someone help me finding it)
-use a specific software to diagnose the disk eventually format it and install dos using usb adapter (no floppy on the quaderno
as I was not given the original cable adapters)
-other solutions suggested by you =)
I can:
-use windows 7
-use snow leopard
-use pure dos 7.1 (bootable usb key with original files on it =) )
-use parted magic (linux distro with gparted and other softwares on it) on a usb live key

Can someone help me?
thanks in advance

Re: recovering a cp2024 or other solution for olivetti quad

April 3rd, 2012, 7:22